LED Matrix Displays

This project has a few strands but the basic conecpt of what I want is:

  • Red and Green lights that illuminate at the start and end of the race
  • Timing information displayed

This post is about the display of timing information. I’m looking at several sizes of display; from handheld devices which may be handy for long Nitro races to large wall-mounted timing displays. In this post I’m going to look at these small, 8×32 LED matrix displays.

The pictures kind of lie to you. It looks maybe 22cm long? It’s not. It’s about 15cm, maybe less. So it’s not very big – however that makes it ideal for putting on your pit-table. So that’s what these displays are going to do.

Since the size and resolution of the display limits me in what information I can display, I’ve figured out how to switch between virtual ‘screens’ which display different information. In the first video you can see the display switching between the round/heat information and the time elapsed information:

As a request from a friend following my RCIB Facebook group, I connected two of these displays together to show all the infomartion being shown at once:

The code is up on Github for anyone following along! Wiring instructions are in the description at the top of the code listing.

Leave a comment